2017 Sabre Sailing Association of WA State Championships

Perth Dinghy Sailing Club and Mounts Bay Sailing Club hosted the Sabre State Championships last weekend (25th & 26th Nov). 26 boats entered the 6 Heat series.

Saturday Racing at PDSC was held in strong gusty winds. Milder conditions prevailed on Sunday at MBSC.

Final results were:
1st Scott Olsen – Fremantle Sailing Club
2nd Tony Carr Perth Dinghy Sailing Club
3rd Clayton Erwin Perth Dinghy Sailing Club

With a growing number of lady sailors in the fleet the Association awarded for the first time a Champion Lady Sailor trophy which was awarded to Julie Olsen (wife of Scott). Julie finished 9th overall and had a well-deserved 2nd place in one of the heats. Daniel Carlton from East Fremantle Yacht Club won the President’s Award.

The next major event for Sabre sailors is the National Championships to be held at PDSC with course set on Matilda Bay from 29th December 2017 – 4 January 2018, over 50 entries have been received.

For more information: