Multiple formats for Sydney Harbour combined clubs Winter racing

All you need is an extra jumper.

That’s the main difference between Summer and Winter club racing on Sydney Harbour, yet competitive fleets during the May-August period have always tended to diminish quite markedly.

Last year the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, Sydney Amateur Sailing Club and Royal Australian Naval Sailing Association got together to tackle this problem and came up with a combined racing program that proved an immediate success.

For this Winter the series formats have been further refined and offer entrants a range of alternatives to satisfy even the most particular skippers and crew.

The combined RSYS/SASC/RANSA racing season begins on May 6 and ends on August 19.

This leaves plenty of time at each end for participants to recover from their Summer exertions, race in the Winter, and then prepare for the Spring pointscore.

There will be a choice of three Winter series, raced concurrently:

* The SASC trophy competition comprising 6 races at roughly fortnightly intervals

* The RSYS trophy series of 12 roughly weekly races

* The RANSA series of 15 weekly races

There will be competition in up to seven divisions including Classics and Super 30s, in spinnaker and non-spinnaker series.

Through the Winter the three organizing clubs will each host a social event after the racing for all participants, families and friends. These proved a great success in the 2016 season.

Furthering the spirit of inter-club cooperation, the Royal Prince Edward Yacht Club will assist with Race Management during the series.

It is anticipated that around 100 yachts will compete.

Contact the participating clubs at the following email addresses: Sydney Amateur Sailing Club; Royal Australian Naval Sailing Association; Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron and Royal Prince Edward Yacht Club

Photo by John Jeremy

For more information: